CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-10-08

Dream Casting

My friends and I often sit around discussing the perfect cast for film version of a beloved book. Like many Anne Rice fans, we were dismayed to learn that Tom Cruise was going to play Lestat. We've spent long evenings discussing over drinks what role Gabriel Byrne could play in the Harry Potter franchise. Rumors of a film version of Neil Gaiman's Sandman series have us in a complete tizzy.

Usually, we're disapointed with the choices casting directors have made in the film adaptations of our literary treasures. (Two notable exceptions are Sense and Sensibility and the genius that cast both David Thewlis and Gary Oldman in HP3). "Why did no one ask us?" is an oft-heard cry around my house. Most recently, I've given up mentally casting my favorite books--the emotions run too deep. But there are some actor pairings that scream to be made. Well, just in case someone with casting power is reading this extremely popular and insightful blog, I offer you the following recommendations:

Matt Damon and Hillary Swank must play twins, or at least brother and sister in a film, soon, before "middle-aged man head spread" kicks in and Damon swells up like his less-talented other half.



Has no one else noticed that Ann Margaret and Nicole Kidman have the same face? They need to play mother and daughter.



Another potential mother/daughter pair that needs to be acknowledged is Susan Sarandon and Drew Barrymore. I find it hard to believe this hasn't been explored before.



Kate Winslett and Rachel Weisz are the same person; she just goes by Kate when she's blonde and Rachel when she's brunette. This would definitely work in an evil-twin scenario.



And speaking of evil twins, maybe Hilary Duff can come out with another movie in time for Halloween


|
BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Hail to the Thief by Radiohead

READING: Job listings, calls for papers, fellowship applications. I, too, need to find some ambition.

WATCHING: As little TV as I can without dying.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com