CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-08-25

Driving with Daddy

This morning I drove Super Fudge to work and I drove myself to the subway. My dad served as the designated adult. My dad is, like my driving instructor, a small brown man. But, before you start generalizing about the driving habits of small brown men, let me tell you that not once did he yell, �Where is your foot?!"

For the first time, I was not at all nervous in the car, even when the garbage truck drove up in front of me, preventing me from pulling out of the parking spot. I maneuvered around it easily. I drove at a leisurely but steady pace. My stops were smooth and deliberate. My turns were good. I think the practice last week with Concave helped.

I much prefer my father�s car to my instructor�s, although it has taken a while to get used to driving it. The first time I drove my father�s car, every time I made a turn, I�d hear an angry bleat of disapproval. I thought, �Come on, people, I know my turns are bad, but you don�t have to honk your horn at me. I�m working on it!� But there was no one behind me. The horn on my father�s car is not in the center of the steering wheel. It�s on the left, near the edge. The horn is obscured by the steering wheel cover. I was tooting my own horn. Every. Single. Turn.

No honking on this trip, not by me, not by my fellow drivers. The only criticism, gently given at the end of the journey, was that I grip the steering wheel too tightly. This is true.

Tonight I drive to the grocery, because we ate all the mayonnaise while my parents were gone.

Oh yeah, and check out Jaws. It's awesome.
|
BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Modest Mouse. "Please, bury me with it."

READING: Gender and anthopology readings. Pity my students.

WATCHING: The love that is the tv.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com