CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2005-05-25

Bring Back the Oracular Fish

A woman stopped me on the sidewalk the other day and said, holding up her palm, �I�m a psychic. I see things for you. I�m a psychic. I work right over there.� She pointed to a storefront psychic place up the street.

�That�s nice,� I replied and continued on my trek to the bus.

On the bus ride home I could not help thinking what she had seen for me, and what guidance she could give me.

For example, had she seen that I regretted my decision not to wear a jacket on that surprisingly chilly spring afternoon?

Did she perhaps know where I put those two library books that have been overdue since March?

Could she tell me what to watch on TV now that HBO has cancelled Carnivale?

Did she know that I was about to pre-order Garth Nix�s latest book?

Could she recommend a better set of earphones for my MuVo?

Was she about to tell me to start lifting weights again, since the bag of books I was carrying felt much heavier to me than it should?

Did she know that today would be my last day working at the library?

My mother, always more practical than I, told me that I should have asked the psychic, �Do you see me not giving you any of my money?�

|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: MuVo mix, painfully. I hate bud earphones.

READING: The Well of Lost Plots by Jasper Fforde

WATCHING: Sims. Sim Brian needs to get laid.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com