CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-09-21
Dammit

We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair. 2 Corinthians 4:8

Woe to me. Like almost everyone else I know, alas, I failed my road test. My instructor took it harder than I did.

Apparently I was doomed from the start. My examiner is fondly referred to as the Dragon Lady by my instructor. And, in truth, there is something of the gorgon about her. Sitting in the car, I felt myself slowly turning to stone. After my exam I was informed that she had not passed anyone that day, and had never passed any of the students from my driving school. The good news is that I can now request never to get her again.

What happened? Well, I stopped the car to wait for a van that was doing some parking maneuver in front of me. The examiner felt that I should have swerved around the van. (I wasn�t in a hurry; I was content to wait.) So, the examiner grabbed the steering wheel and made me drive around the car. Once the examiner touches the steering wheel or the brake it is over. And it was, but she cruelly made me execute a broken U-turn and parallel park, both of which I did perfectly.

Some people have told me stories about bursting into tears at the end of their road test. I cannot see having that much emotion invested in a 15-minute driving exam. It�s not like when I took the SAT for the first time, and discovered I had 3 extra blank spaces at the end of my answer sheet, just as the proctor told us to put our pencils down. I did cry then. But I was 15, and the SAT looms much larger in a high school student�s future. This most recent failure just means that my dad has to ride along in the car with me for 2 more weeks. Poor Daddy. Maybe he should cry.

New road test is scheduled for October 6. Stay tuned.


|
BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Modest Mouse. "And we'll all float on all right."

READING: Summonings, Books of Magic, v. 2, by John Ney Rieber

WATCHING: The Gilmore Girls. Rory is an ADULTERESS!

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com