CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2006-10-19

Aging Hipsters Love Beck

La Belle Helene, SuperFudge, Basie, and I saw Beck play at MSG last night. I had pretty much given up on rock concerts after the Ben Harper debacle in Roseland a few years back. (Ben was fantastic. His audience, made up primarily of teenagers on the verge of overdose, was most definitely not). Beck has restored my faith in overpriced live music.

I was a little concerned that my outfit, a dark blue jersey and khaki pants, were too conservative for concert-going, but I need not have worried. Many people in the audience looked like they'd come straight from work (as I had). That's not to say I didn't see some fashion blunders. A 40-year-old man wearing a t-shirt over a long-sleeved shirt is a mildly ridiculous sight. And many baseball caps had been called upon to cover emergent baldspots. One poor dude had teased his remaining three hairs into an elaborate pompadour, rockabilly style.

You see, the audience was mad old, yo. Sure, there were a few teenagers, and there was even an eight year old boy sitting behind us. But, in the main, Beck's audience has aged. I'm sure most of us remembered buying Mellow Gold on cassette. CASSETTE!

The music was great. The performance was perfect, even though Beck forgot the words to some country ditty he learned in Tennesee.

What made the show sublime, however, was the puppet show going on just behind the band. All the band members, including Beck, had a puppet version, who mimicked them on a little stage. This puppet show was broadcast on a large screen above the stage. Just behind the puppets was a miniature puppet stage with puppet versions of the puppets. META PUPPETRY. This is why this man is my husband forever.

|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Beck, nothing but Beck

READING: Story of a City by Abd Al-Rahman Munif

WATCHING: Project Runway. JEFFREY?! Uli was robbed.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com