CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-06-16

How to make a quiconque
Ingredients:

1 part anger

3 parts humour

5 parts leadership

Method:
Add to a cocktail shaker and mix vigorously. Top it off with a sprinkle of caring and enjoy!

Huh, huh, huh, It says "parts."

I am going to see Stepford Wives with La Belle Helene, Super Fudge, and Babs. (Babs wants a different name. I think we should hold a "Name Babs Contest," like they do for newborn gorillas in the zoo). Before seeing Moulin Rouge, I was convinced that Nicole Kidman was a robot, anyway. So I cannot see this role being much of a stretch. Speaking of stretch, what has been going on with her forehead lately?

*******

For the past three days, my every subway ride has been invaded by a class trip. Obviously, I am not the only on getting caught in the flood of sweaty, hyper children. I look at the faces of my fellow commuters. We all grimace, and wince, and put on our headphones. Books and newspapers are put away, because it is impossible to read in the bustle and noise and of 30 rambunctious children packed into one subway car. Why is there only one teacher? When I was little, we needed one adult monitor for every 5 kids, and we were traveling on a cheese bus, not a dangerous subway. Where are these children going? I hold by breath, hoping they'll be gone by the next stop, but the train passes the zoo, the stadium, Harlem, the natural history museum, the park, Times Square...and they're all still here, sitting on me and hitting my shins with their bookbags. Why are they so unaware of how much space they take up? Why is the teacher sitting as far away from them as she possibly can? I must admit that I was forced to use my stern stare at some little girls who kept bumping into me. They did say sorry, which is all I really wanted. And hey, it's better than getting pelted with rocks, like some people.

** Suggestions for Babs's new name can be left in the Notes section.
|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: The clickety-clack of productive graduate students.

READING: Marital advice in the NY Times Magazine.

WATCHING: Blonde robots with big breasts.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com