CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-06-26

Plug: Famous Ghost Monologues

Last night I braved torrential rain and the prospect of another devastating flood to see a reading of The Famous Ghost Monologues. Before the show even began, I was treated to the following highlights: Sars walking down the street in a fetching little black ensemble, complete with strappy heels and a large white plastic garbage bag on her head (Glam-R-Us!); four elderly folks trying to navigate the river between their taxicab and the sidewalk; a yellow chunk falling off said cab when the aforementioned elderly people opened the door; and a tourist in flip-flops wiping out dramatically on the rain-soaked marble floor of the lobby (but for the glass door, she would have shot right down the hallway). These alone were worth the price of admission. (Five dollars, what a bargain. What a bargain for me!)

Chronically early, I helped set up the space and waited in the lobby, listening to a troupe across the hall perform a lively rendition of "Roll Out the Barrel." I wish I'd brought a book, or more than a tiny notepad to write on. La Belle H�l�ne and Super Fudge were at the Incubus show at MSG. I bet they didn't help the band carry in wet music stands. Yeah, I am that cool. Oh Jesus, have I become a groupie?

Speaking of Jesus, there's a Christian bookstore next door. I was tempted to go in and cause some mischief, but the entrance was blocked by tourists having a Kodak Moment. "See Mildred, there are Christians in New York City. It's not completely Gomorrah!"

My verdict: highly recommended. The performances were good. The actors are talented, but the real star is the writing--smart, funny and wistful. The full stage show goes up August 5. Get your tickets ASAP.


|
BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Hello Nasty by The Beastie Boys

READING: Waiting by Ha Jin

WATCHING: Some lame-o sci-fi drama about mutants on the WB

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com