CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2005-10-07

A Few Good Things

DumbOkie, who is by no means dumb, has a blog. She sums up perfectly my anger and frustration over the recent (relentless) infertility hoo-ha directed at women over 35. Perhaps I'm more sensitive to this crap now that I am in that age group, but it seems to me that this summer the news has been rife with chastisements against women who "wait too long." My reaction to such broadcasts was always, "Shut the Fuck UP!" Okie has found a more eloquent and persuasive way to say it. (FYI, Okie's spelling has acquired a decidedly British cast now that she's living in Wales.)

*****

The Swing Dolls will be appearing in next week's episode of The Gilmore Girls. One third of the Swing Dolls is none other than Ms. Andrea Lee Davis, a college friend and former music director of a certain a capella group I belonged to. Andrea may be difficult to spot--I couldn't make her out in the promo for next week's show--her straight blond locks are covered by a curly dark wig.

****
I have a job, I think, working as a factotum for an eccentric millionaire. The job entails many confidential matters; so I probably won't be blogging about it much.

****
A maybe job means a maybe car, which I may purchase soon. The car I have my eye on is no great thing--10 years old, a little dented, lots of miles. But it may just be what I need to get around for the next year or two. Asking my mom's permission to drive the minivan is getting too infantilizing.

****
I'd given up on Donald Trump's Apprentice because, well, frankly, it has sucked royally since the second season. But Martha's is awesome. Not so much for the cast, who are just as dumb as the folks the Donald picks, but for Martha herself, who, despite her recent legal and financial mistakes, seems far more savvy than the Donald ever did. When she called everyone back to the conference room because she didn't agree with the losing PM's choice of whom to fire, I stood up and clapped at the TV. I can't wait to see the episode where she threatens to lose her temper. I have a friend who worked for her. Trust me, you don't want to make Martha lose her temper.
*****

Bite you I will.
|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Nothing really. I took apart my mp3 player and I don't know what I did with half of it.

READING: Halloween costume catalogs. Someone needs to have a party.

WATCHING: See entry

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com