CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2005-05-20

Mixed Success

Wednesday night found me in a tony salon where a small Russian woman gave me a haircut which, had it a name, would be known as the Clancy.

Thursday morning found me eating mushroom and goat cheese frittata with the fabulous Squirma, who came all the way from Canada to see me. Yes, there was some talk about a granddaughter and a law school graduation, but I know I was the real motivation for the trip. We had a great time catching up, dishing on people we used to know, and bragging about the small children in our lives.

Thursday afternoon was spent in Riverside Park, reading about marginality in Europe, and fighting off an allergy attack that Allegra could not completely quell.

Thursday evening I discovered that I mispronounce half of what I say. I blame reading and a childhood spent in the colonies. But then social science came to my rescue and reminded me that language is constantly evolving. Linguistic standards are really conventions! And I was happy again in my ignorance.

Finally, this morning, my experiment in low rise briefs failed spectacularly and hilariously (to me, at least) as I walked up the stairs out of the subway. Good thing I wasn�t wearing a skirt.
|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: My MuVo. Bud earphones are a pain.

READING: Stuff on France. Big surprise.

WATCHING: Reality TV finales. Kendra's the Apprentice! Naima's America's Next Top Model!

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com