CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-10-13

A Few of My Favorite Things

Because I am a graduate student at a public, and therefore, grossly underfunded, university, I often have to resort to the NYPL to serve my research needs which, in other places, would be met by a few ivy-covered buildings with computerized turnstiles installed to keep out students from public universities.

The main research library of the NYPL is public space, and the public can be distracting, if not downright entertaining. I once sat in the reading room across from a man who, over the course of about 4 hours, slowly ripped apart his notebook and surreptitiously ate each strip of paper. (Not surreptitiously enough, obviously, because I noticed. If he hadn't been so twitchy about it, I probably would never have looked up).

When I got back from my fieldwork, I discovered that the library had played an evil trick on me: my research interests were apparently so obscure that they no longer cared to house the books that I (and only I) routinely requested. The books were now held captive in a storage facility many rivers and toll booths away. I would have to request things in advance. This made me cranky. I am the Spontaneous Scholar. I do not plan. I theorize on the spur of the moment!

I had pretty much given up on the NYPL in favor of the vastly improved ILL service at my school (Take that, Elite Private College. I've still managed to get my meaty paws all over your books.) Other people seem to have given up the library, too. I now see folks doing homework at their local bookstore, with dog-eared, broken-spined, coffee-ringed copies of NEW MERCHANDISE stacked around them.

But, fellow graduate students, take heart. Do not give up on the NYPL. This is why the public library always, always beats Barnes and Noble.

From an email I received through my department:

"GRADUATE STUDENT RECEPTION & ORIENTATION

The New York Public Library Research Libraries cordially invites you to join us for drinks and hors d'oeuvres, and to meet fellow graduate students from other New York colleges and universities. Learn more about the vast and unique collections, the scholarly opportunities and services available to you in one of the world's largest research libraries.

Tuesday, October 26th, 4pm-6pm
Wednesday, October 27th, 6pm-8pm

The event will be held in Room 206, the Trustees Room, on the second floor of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library at Fifth Avenue and 42nd Street.

Librarians and curators from both the Humanities and Science Library and the Science, Industry & Business Library are looking forward to meeting you, answering questions, and talking with you about their collections. Graduate students in art history, English, history, anthropology, philosophy, library science and other disciplines will find this event both helpful and
enjoyable.

Please let us know which session you will attend, your major and institution by emailing us at [email protected] or calling 212-930-0585."

Books AND booze AND librarians. Ah, bliss. I'll be there. Why not join me?

If the hors d'oeuvres taste better than a legal pad, I'll be happy.
|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: I so much want to put a clever little obscure band here.

READING: Books on nutritional and visual anthropology. What have I done to myself?

WATCHING: Far too much TV.

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com