CHARISMATIC MEGAFAUNA

By Quiconque

Don't get me started
2004-05-13

Potpourri 1

On Jeopardy! they recycle unused questions into a hodge-podge category and call it "Potpourri," a fancy French term for leftovers from the unfancy French words for "rotten pot." In the spirit of not letting good ideas go to waste, I offer you these tidbits from my mental table.

*****

Look upon this happy fellow. He takes pride in his work. He gets his unitards custom-made. He wins prizes.

*****

These are brilliant. I want a whole case of them. I need to work out how to make a hasty departure once I hand one to somebody, though.

*****

In a recent fashion segment on "hot looks for summer," this dullard reported that nail polish can be used on toenails as well as fingernails.

*****

Have you ever been to the movies and unwittingly sat in front of The Guy Who Needs to Explain the Film to His Addlepated Girlfriend? I have, many times, and I always wonder why the girlfriend doesn�t tell her man, "Shut the hell up! I can see he has a gun!" But they never do, and so, I blame them for not keeping their boyfriends in line.

*****

In a related story, I was at the Hungarian Pastry Shop, a coffee house known more for the intellectual posing of its clientele than for its pastries, where I had the misfortune of sitting next to an undergraduate blowhard who loudly regaled his friend with pedantic speeches about the utility of deconstructionism to the ethnographic project. He blathered on and on about being "beyond Derrida," the subjectivity of gender, and the perceptiveness of Nietzsche. I kept waiting for his interlocutor to yell, "Shut the hell up! I can barely hear the social theory in between all of your �likes� and �you knows!�" But he didn�t. Instead, he just batted his eyelashes and swooned, "Oh rilly, Foucault said that?" I think he must have figured out that if he played along, he�d be getting some sex at the end of this impromptu lesson. What�s the worst conversation you�ve ever put up with in the interest of getting busy?
|

BLOGOPHILIA

addieplum
ashyknees
bevin
dumbokie
fresh peth
la belle helene
mr. snacks
my adult life
prettygirl
prima
rex kramer
shasta red
sooner
squirma
totally knitting
waterlilysage
yoko
zantimisfit
'zaziel

LINKS







tomato nation
cocktail
heartless bitches
miss manners
bunny survival tests
scary squirrel world
angry alien
not martha
my theme song
j.k. rowling
four word film reviews
chicklit

DIARYRINGS

napqueens
geek-love
anthropology

LISTENING TO: Musicology by Prince

READING: Lost in a Good Book by Jasper Fforde

WATCHING: The Frasier finale, or course. Do you think Frasier will find true love?

Site Meter

current archives profile email notes diaryland

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my site:
email:
Powered by NotifyList.com